Narrative Ballet in One Act by Antony Tudor

Music by Frederick Delius (A Walk to Paradise Garden from A Village Romeo and Juliet, Eventyr, Over the Hills and Far Away, Brigg Fair)
Music arranged by Antal Dorati
Choreography by Antony Tudor
Libretto based on the play by William Shakespeare
Scenery and costumes by Eugene Berman
Lighting by Nananne Porcher

TIMING: 6:00

World Premiere: Metropolitan Opera House, New York, 4/6/43 - the ballet was performed as scheduled, though Tudor had not finished it; the complete production was presented four nights later.
Original Cast: Hugh Laing (Romeo), Alicia Markova (Juliet), Nicolas Orloff (Mercutio), Jerome Robbins (Benvolio), Antony Tudor (Tybalt), Lucia Chase (Nurse to Juliet), Dimitri Romanoff (Friar Laurence), Sono Osato (Rosaline), Borislav Runanine (Montague), Miriam Golden (Lady Montague), John Taras (Capulet), Galina Razoumova (Lady Capulet), Richard Reed (Paris)

Copyright 2008 Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.