Music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Sinfonia Concertante in E flat Major for Violin and Viola, K. 364)
Choreography by George Balanchine
Staged by Susan Jones
Costumes by Theoni V. Aldredge
Lighting by David K. H. Elliott

TIMING: 32:00

Set to Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E flat Major for Violin and Viola K. 364, Symphonie Concertante’s three parts correspond to the three movements of the score. The ballet calls for two ballerinas (each corresponding to a solo instrument), a danseur, six soloists and a corps de ballet of sixteen.

Symphonie Concertante received its World Premiere by the Ballet Society at the City Center Theatre, New York on November 12, 1947, with Maria Tallchief, Tanaquil LeClerq and Todd Bolender in the principal roles.

Symphonie Concertante received its American Ballet Theatre Company Premiere at the Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts on January 19, 1983, danced by Cynthia Gregory, Martine van Hamel and Patrick Bissell.

Symphonie Concertante is part of American Ballet Theatre’s repertory of Balanchine ballets which includes Apollo, Ballet Imperial, Bourrée Fantasque, Donizetti Variations, Mozartiana, Prodigal Son, La Sonnambula, Stravinsky Violin Concerto, Symphony in C, the Tchaikovsky Pas de Deux and Theme and Variations.

© Copyright 2003-2007 Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.