Symphony #9

Choreography by Alexei Ratmansky
Music by Dmitri Shostakovich (Symphony No. 9 in E-Flat Major, op. 70)
Scenery by George Tsypin
Costumes by Keso Dekker
Lighting by Jennifer Tipton

Symphony #9, choreographed by Alexei Ratmansky, is the first in a trio of works presented as a full evening of one-act ballets. The second and third works, set to Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony for Strings (Op. 110a) and Concerto No.1 for Piano, Trumpet, and Strings, Op.35, respectively, received their World Premieres during the Company’s 2013 Spring season at the Metropolitan Opera House.

Symphony #9 was given its World Premiere by American Ballet Theatre on October 18, 2012 at New York City Center, danced by Polina Semionova, Marcelo Gomes, Herman Cornejo, Simone Messmer and Craig Salstein.

Symphony #9 is co-commissioned by American Ballet Theatre and San Francisco Ballet.

© Copyright 2013 Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.