Photos: Rosalie O'Connor.

© Copyright 2017
Ballet Theatre Foundation, Inc.
All rights reserved.

ABT Studio Company

ABT Studio Company, the top level of the American Ballet Theatre training ladder, is a classical ensemble made up of 12 dancers of outstanding potential. The mission of ABT Studio Company is to train these young dancers (ages 16-20) in preparation for entering American Ballet Theatre’s main Company or other leading national and international professional ballet companies. A bridge between ballet training and professional performance, ABT Studio Company serves as a crucial transition point.


Under the Artistic Direction of ABT Artistic Director Kevin McKenzie and ABT Studio Company Artistic Director Kate Lydon, ABT Studio Company members participate in an extensive schedule of classes and rehearsals, including classical ballet technique, partnering, pointe, men's technique, character, variations, mime and acting, dance history, Pilates and men's and women's strength training. Workshops in nutrition, health and wellness, stress management, injury prevention, and audition preparation are also included in the curriculum. ABT Studio Company dancers train at the American Ballet Theatre and ABT Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis School facilities, Monday through Saturday.

ABT Studio Company dancers work closely with members of ABT's Artistic Staff and guest faculty to learn ABT repertoire and other masterworks of the classical cannon. The Studio Company is also an incubator for choreographers who aim to develop new work. Studio Company dancers work with renowned classical and contemporary choreographers, many of whom create new repertory on the group. Recent and upcoming choreographers include Gemma Bond, Dana Genshaft, Marcelo Gomes, Jessica Lang, Lauren Lovette, Liam Scarlett, Ethan Stiefel and George Williamson.

Performances and Touring
ABT Studio Company dancers gain experience by bringing the professionalism and artistry of ABT to a wide audience through touring, residencies, and cultural exchanges.

Presenters who are interested in engaging ABT Studio Company are welcome to contact ABT Studio Company Manager Claire Florian at abtstudiocompany@abt.org for more information. ABT Studio Company tours in one-week increments that can consist of a variety of offerings, including full in-theater performances, narrated in-school or family performances, lecture/demonstrations, master classes and more. Each engagement is tailored to fit the presenter’s and local community’s needs.

Community Engagement
ABT Studio Company is dedicated to developing the next generation of audience members and aspiring dancers. In addition to providing the highest quality training for its dancers, ABT Studio Company acts as ABT’s principal outreach arm by participating in educational and community engagement activities throughout New York City and beyond.


Kevin McKenzie, ABT Artistic Director
Kate Lydon, ABT Studio Company Artistic Director
Sascha Radetsky, ABT Studio Company Ballet Master
Yan Chen, Guest Ballet Mistress

Current ABT Studio Company faculty members include: Allison Eggers, Thomas Forster, Cynthia Harvey, Robert LaFosse, Carlos Lopez, Kate Lydon, Clinton Luckett, Clarice Marshall, Sascha Radetsky, Keith Sabado, Gennadi Saveliev, Lupe Serrano, Ethan Stiefel, Martine van Hamel and Roman Zhurbin.

Current ABT Studio Company

To view the current roster for ABT Studio Company, click here.


To learn more about auditioning for ABT Studio Company, click here.

Nearly two thirds of current American Ballet Theatre dancers are alumni of ABT Studio Company. ABT Studio Company graduates have also gone on to dance for other leading companies in the United States and abroad.

Dancers currently in American Ballet Theatre who started their careers in ABT Studio Company (formerly ABT II) include:

    Principal Dancers
  • Isabella Boylston
  • Misty Copeland
  • Herman Cornejo
  • David Hallberg
  • Sarah Lane
  • Hee Seo
  • Christine Shevchenko
  • Cory Stearns
  • Devon Teuscher

  • Skylar Brandt
  • Thomas Forster
  • Joseph Gorak
  • Alexandre Hammoudi
  • Blaine Hoven
  • Calvin Royal III
  • Arron Scott
  • Roman Zhurbin

    Corps de Ballet
  • Joo Won Ahn
  • Nastia Alexandrova
  • Hanna Bass
  • Aran Bell
  • Gisele Bethea
  • Lauren Bonfiglio
  • Kathryn Boren
  • Gray Davis
  • Brittany DeGrofft
  • Zhong-Jing Fang
  • Scout Forsythe
  • April Giangeruso
  • Carlos Gonzalez
  • Breanne Granlund
  • Melanie Hamrick
  • Courtlyn Hanson
  • Connor Holloway
  • Catherine Hurlin
  • Anabel Katsnelson
  • Erica Lall
  • Courtney Lavine
  • Carolyn Lippert
  • Isadora Loyola
  • Xuelan Lu
  • Tyler Maloney
  • Hannah Marshall
  • Kaho Ogawa
  • Garegin Pogossian
  • Kelley Potter
  • Wan Yue Qiao
  • Rachel Richardson
  • Jose Sebastian
  • Gabe Stone Shayer
  • Courtney Shealy
  • Nathan Vendt
  • Paulina Waski
  • Katherine Williams
  • Remy Young
  • Jin Zhang
  • Zhiyao Zhang

  • Sierra Armstrong
  • Zimmi Coker
  • Luigi Crispino
  • Kiely Groenewegen
  • Andrii Ishchuk
  • Virginia Lensi